

On October 24th, the world lost a beloved and courageous fighter, whom many regard as "The Mother of the Civil Rights Movement." Mrs. Parks became the symbol for racial, economic and social justice, as her refusal to give up her bus seat on December 1, 1955, inspired a massive movement which helped to change the world.

On December 1st, Commemorate the 50th Anniversary of Mrs. Parks' protest and celebrate the civil rights movement!

THURSDAY DEC 1 6:00 PM

Gather at the DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. THE HISTORIC FIRST BAPTIST **MEMORIAL PLAZA**

Brambleton Ave. and Church Street

"Walk For Freedom" to **CHURCH - BUTE STREET 418 East Bute Street**

7:00 PM - Tribute To Rosa Parks

Special Guest Speaker **Rev. Dr. Yvonne V. Delk**

Dr. Yvonne Delk was the first African American woman ordained by the United Church of Christ and was selected by Ebony magazine as one of the top 15 woman preachers in the country. She is the former executive director of the Community Renewal Society (CRS), a Chicago-based mission agency related to the United Church of Christ. CRS works to empower people to dismantle racism and poverty in order to build just communities. She directed a staff of 40. She is a Norfolk native.

As an interfaith leader and prolific speaker, Dr. Delk has taught and lectured in over 100 countries on five continents. She is former moderator of the World Council of Churches (WCC) Programme to Combat Racism (PCR) working group and prior to that, she was a member of the PCR Commission. Through the WCC, she has worked extensively with justice networks globally. She also serves on the board of Sojourners Magazine.

A champion in the cause for justice, Dr. Delk continues to speak a prophetic word in the 21st century as a unconditional friend and champion for the "least of these."

Rev. Delk is currently serving as the Founding Director of the Center for African American Theological Studies located in Chicago, IL.

ENDORSERS: Hon. Kenneth C. Alexander, Member, Virginia House of Delegates • Rev. Dr. Antonio Bishop, Pastor, Anointed Word Ministries • Keela A. Boose, Southside Coalition • Brenda H. Andrews Brooks, Publisher, New Journal and Guide • George W.C. Brown, Plume Line Ministries • Beulah Carey, Retired Educator • Diana F. Chappell-Lewis, Youth Director, Metropolitan AME Zion Church • Jacqueline C. Cooper, Retired Chief, NSU Police Dept. • George C. Crawley, President/CEO, The 200+ Men, Inc. • Rev. Kenneth W. Crowder, Pastor, Metropolitan AME Zion Church • Jacqueline Curtis, Special Assistant To The President/Board Liaison, Norfolk State University • John R. Doyle, Norfolk Commonwealth's Attorney • Imam Vernon Farreed, Masjid William Salaam • Rev. Joe B. Fleming, Pastor, Third Baptist Church • Johnnie Fleming, President, The Ministers' Wives and Widows Alliance of Tidewater • Dr. John H. Foster, Pastor, Shiloh Baptist Church • Evelyn Green, Early Childhood Educator (Ret.) • Hon. Rev. Joseph N. Green, Former Vice Mayor, City of Norfolk; Pastor, Grace Episcopal Church (Ret.) • Cynthia Hall, Owner, LifeStyles of Chesapeake • Theodore Hall, Vietnam Veterans for Peace and Justice • Hon. Rev. Curtis Harris, Mayor, City of Hopewell; SCLC • Hon. C.E. "Cliff" Hayes, Jr., Member, Chesapeake City Council • John G. Hatcher, Executive Director, Wesley Community Service Center, Inc. • Mae Haywood, President, Portsmouth HIstorical Society • Julie Hill, Co-Chair, Sudanese Lost Boys Outreach Committee • Herbal Farmacy • Hon. Daun Hester, Vice Mayor, City of Norfolk • Edith R. Jones, President-CEO, The STOP Organization • Rodney A. Jordan, Joseph Jordan Foundation • Dr. Cedric Kirkland-Harris, Pastor, Bank Street Memorial Baptist Church • Rev. Dr. Joseph E. Lamb, Sr., Pastor, St. Thomas A.M.E. Zion Church • Leslie "Bubbha" Lawson, Pres., AFGE Local 4015 • Anthony G. Lewis, Atlantic Lithography Printing & Graphics, Inc. • Anne H. Long, First Citizen of Portsmouth 1987 • John Long, Community Social Justice Activist • Hon. L. Louise Lucas, Virginia State Senator • Rev. Dr. Melvin O. Marriner, Pastor, Grove Baptist Church • Dr. Yvonne B. Miller, Virginia State Senator • Rev. Dr. Robert G. Murray, Pastor, The Historic First Baptist Church • Dr. Cassandra Newby-Alexander, Professor, Norfolk State University • Dr. Hugo A. Owens, Former Vice Mayor, Chesapeake • Dr. Evelyn Sears Peevy, Retired Professor, NSU • Zenobia Poyner, Grand Daughter Secretary, Grand Temple, Daughters of Elks (I.B.P.O.E. of W.) • Positive Vibes • Hon. Marlene W. Randall, Member, Portsmouth City Council • Dr. James M. Reeves, Vice Chairman, Education Initiatives, The 200+ Men, Inc. • Rev. Dr. Milton A. Reid, SCLC; Retired Pastor • Hon. Paul R. Riddick, Member, Norfolk City Council • Dr. H. McDonald Rimple, Former Director, Norfolk Public Health & Former Regional Dir., VA Dept of Health, (Ret) • Dr. La Francis Rodgers-Rose, President-Founder, International Black Women's Congress • Horace S. Savage, Jr., First Citizen of Portsmouth 1998 • Andrew Shannon, President, Peninsula SCLC • Dr. Ulysses V. Spiva, Professor Emeritus, ODU • Hon. Lionell Spruill, Member, Virginia House of Delegates • Dr. Samuel Varner, Retired Pastor, United Church of Christ • Dr. William H. Ward, Former Mayor, City of Chesapeake; Professor, NSU (Ret) • Wesley Community Service Center, Inc. • Edith G. White, President, Urban League of Hampton Roads, Inc. • Hon. Charles Whitehurst, Member, Portsmouth City Council • Junius H. Williams, Jr., First Citizen of Portsmouth 1995 • Dr. Rudolph Wilson, Department Head, NSU Political Science.

Rosa Parks Tribute Committee • For more information call: 335-DEC1 • 626-3425 RPTC • Wesley Community Service Center • 1701 Elm Ave., Portsmouth, VA 23704